Hall of Fame

The Richmond Athletic Hall of Fame Committee is excited to announce the return of the induction ceremony on June 5th. The induction will begin at 6pm at RHS with a meal.   The ceremony is scheduled to begin at 7pm.  Admission to the event will be $12 at the door, children 6 & under are free. We ask that anyone planning on attending RSVP here: RSVP Form

After a year delay due to the Covid 19 pandemic, the Richmond Spartan Alumni Association will induct the newest members of the RHS Athletic Hall of Fame Saturday, June 5 in the RHS commons. The dinner will begin at 6 p.m., followed by the induction ceremonies starting at 7.

This year’s class includes four individuals and one team. The late Dr. John Scowley will posthumously receive the Miss Ethel Kirkpatrick Spartan Pride Award.

The Class of 2021 RHS Hall of Fame members are:

Rob Bowers: Bowers coached the Spartan football program for 22 years compiling a 149-99 record. In 2010, Bowers guided the Spartans to an undefeated season and the Class 3 state title – knocking off two defending state champions on the way. Under Bowers, the Spartans captured 7 conference and 9 district championships, and advanced to the state semifinals three times.

Cody Buhrmiester (1990): A three-year letter winner in football, basketball and track. Upon graduation, held several RHS track records. Was captain for the football Spartans and held record for longest kickoff return. Played football and ran track at Northwest Missouri State. Named all-MIAA defensive back as a senior and holds the mark for most interceptions in a game. The four-year letterman for the Bearcat track team earned all-conference 10 times in the hurdles and relays.

Kyle Newham (1996): A three-sport award winner at RHS. Football captain in 1995 and earned all-conference lineman honors. As a wrestler, Newham was 128-23 and a four-time state qualifier with titles at 171 and 189 pounds, in addition to being a three-time district champion. He holds the school mark in takedowns for a season and career. Was voted the top pitcher for the Spartan baseball team as a senior with an ERA of 1.30. He was a member of the NAIA National Wrestling Champion Missouri Valley Vikings in 1997. Was head wrestling coach at Boonville and served as defensive coordinator for the football Pirates.

Charlie Pugh (1995): Standout football and track performer at RHS, who went on to earn four MIAA championships and two National football titles at Northwest Missouri State. As a Spartan, Pugh rushed for 2,313 yards and 19 career touchdowns. Pugh was named outstanding runner at the MRVC track championships his senior year and qualified for two sectional events. At Northwest, Pugh earned first-team all-MIAA honors as a kick returner and ranks seventh on the all-time NMSU list with 1,235 yards and eighth with 53 returns. Was a starting defensive back for the 1998 and 1999 National Champions. Pugh is now the head football coach at Truman High School.

The 1916 Spartan football team. The Spartans, under John T. Hughes won the first-ever state football championship for Richmond. (The 1971 Spartans were the first under the administration of the Missouri State High School Activities Association.) The unbeaten Spartans were dominant as they defeated teams like Lee’s Summit, 48-0; Liberty, 76-0 and Kansas City Veterinary College 37-0. The Spartans, and their fans, then traveled by train to Columbia to meet Columbia High School for the state championship. Richmond jumped out to a 20-0 lead at the half on the way to a 41-6 victory.

The cost of the banquet is $12, with children under the age of 6, free. Pulled pork, green beans, roll, drinks and a dessert will be served. Make your reservations by going to the Richmond School District website at richmondspartans.org. Click on the athletics tab, and then on the news story labeled “2021 Hall of Fame.” The link will be in the story.